Just when you thought Augustine got borring


ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY
INFORMATION RELEASE
Saturday, January 28, 2006 8:55 AM AKST (1755 UTC)


AUGUSTINE VOLCANO (CAVW#1103-01-)
59.3633°N 153.4333°W, Summit Elevation 4134 ft (1260 m)
Current Level of Concern Color Code: RED

**CORRECTION - note change in ash cloud direction on fourth eruption described below.**

Four explosive eruptions have occurred in the last 12 hours. The first began at 20:24 AKST 27 January (0524 UTC 28 January) and had a total duration of 9 minutes. According to the National Weather Service (NWS), an ash cloud reached a maximum height of around 30,000 feet above sea level (asl) and drifted southeast. The second occurred at 23:37 AKST 27 January (0837 UTC 28 January) and had a duration of 1 minute. No ash was detected above 10,000 feet after this event. The third occurred at 02:04 AKST (1104 UTC) 28 January and had a duration of 2 minutes. Ash drifted SE at a height of up to 26,000 feet (NWS). The fourth occurred at 07:42 AKST (1642 UTC) 28 January and had a duration of 3 minutes. The ash cloud drifted SE at a maximum height of 25,000 feet (NWS). Ashfall advisories are issued by NWS and the most up to date information can be found at http://pafc.arh.noaa.gov/augustine.php.

Further explosive eruptions may occur with little warning. AVO is monitoring the situation closely. Please refer to our hourly updates for the most recent information on volcanic activity.